Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Question Challenging Paternity in Alabama

My question involves paternity law for the State of: Alabama. I was married for 6 years and my ex-wife and I had a daughter together. I signed the birth certificate without reason to question paternity due to the fact that we were married.

We legally separated in 2006 for then subsequently divorces on May 8, 2006. I have been paying child support since April 2004 and never missed a payment.

On 25 June 2010, through DNA testing, I discovered that I wasn't my daughter's biological Father. In accordance with ALABAMA. ALA. CODE. 26-17A-2, I plan to surrender my parental rights and discontinue child support payments. I understand that renouncing my parental rights also disqualifies me from any visitation priveleges as well.

I'm currently deployed to Iraq and having trouble dealing with this situation. Is there a possibility that I can be awarded restitution for mental anguish due to paternity fraud?

Default Re: Challenging Paternity in Alabama

How old is your daughter? Is the bio dad in the picture? How did you happen to have DNA tests done? Have you maintained a relationship with this little girl (does she see you as dad)? Why do you want to walk away from a child that has been yours? Is this at the request of your ex? After all of these years,disestablishing paternity probably isn't going to be as easy as signing a paper. Most courts still hold a clause relating to the best interest of the child, regardless of actual biological relationship. Many also have time limits. Proving fraud after all of these years isn't going to be a walk in the park either. I'm not an atty, but the answers to the above may give more insight for someone to give you a more informed answer.

Is there a possibility that I can be awarded restitution for mental anguish due to paternity fraud?
    What about your daughter's mental anguish for having her father abandon her?