Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Speeding Ticket School Zone With the Wrong Time on Ticket

Alrighty - I'd love some help with this. I was in Tri Cities for a tennis tourney - I was about 2 miles from the complex and about an hour early - so no need for rushing and I was ticketed going 33 in a school zone so $271. I have no tickets on my record.

I was shocked to say the least. I was driving SO SLOW. I am from Wenatchee and we just had a stranger approach some school kids so I am vigilent in school zones to watch for kids that need help. I came to a complete stop twice in the course of the zone so fo him to ticket me at 33 just doesn't seem possible.

Also - the officer complimented my driving and stated that whenever kids were present on the sidewalk I drove very slow and it was after I passed the kids that I sped up. That is just annoying! I am a fantastic driver and his comments prooved it. Shouldn't he be watching for the person blazing through the zone instead of training his laser on me hoping that at one point I'll violate the law even though he saw how careful I was being?

Anyway - what are my options?? The only "error" I can see is that the ticket states 24 hour time and he wrote 0126. That would be 1am to my understanding and I was no where near there at 1am.

Any thoughts?

Jackie

Default Re: Speeding Ticket School Zone Wa State Wrong Time on Ticket

As per the back of your ticket. You have 3 options:

Uno: Pay it and have it on your record. Insurance rates rise.
    Dose: Mitigate. This means a mitigated hearing. You can explain your circumstances or possibly get a deferral, but you're still pleading guilty.

And this is probably the best one:

3: Contested Hearing. You plead not guilty and you prepare a defense by filing to receive discovery. (we'll help you with that) Granted, if you lose, the ticket will still end up on your driving record and you'll still pay the fine.