Default Shoplifting from a Department Store

My question involves criminal law for the state of: New York.

I was recently caught shoplifting 2 shirts worth $108 from a local retail store. I was not arrested at the scene but given a summons. I am 18. This is my first time in trouble with any sort of law. My court date is coming up in a few months, and I have already paid the Civil Demand fee to the store, which was $500.

Getting a lawyer is really out of the question for me, so I was wondering whether to plead "guilty" or "no contest" and which is the more likely to get this as a violation and not a misdemeanor on my record.

I completely realize the consequences of what I have done and that my life may be forever changed for the worse...especially for work. I would rather not leave this up to what kind of a day the judge is having, if I get lucky, etc.

Thank you everyone and I appreciate the help extremely...I just want this nightmare to be over with.

Default Negotiating a Plea Bargain Without a Lawyer

Here's my stats:
    State of NY
    18 year old
    Stole $108
    Payed all of my civil demand, given a court appearance date 155.25 Petit Larceny
    First time offender

I've talked to several people who said it's best to plead not guilty and get it down to disorderly conduct....the question is, can I do it alone with enough research or do I need a lawyer present???

Default Re: Negotiating a Plea Bargain Without a Lawyer

It is your right to try to negotiate your own plea deal. You should be able to talk to the prosecutor when you're in court to see what they offer and, should you wish to then consult a lawyer, you will likely be able to schedule a later court hearing and consult a lawyer in the interim.

Default Re: Shoplifting from a Department Store