Default How to Find Out Status of Unemployment in New Jersey

I have been out of work almost 11 weeks. I filed a claim immediately after my layoff. There are no issues regarding my eligibility... I was clearly laid off, I have more than enough time and money in the system to qualify for benefits. The only issue I had was a matter of 2 weeks' severance in lieu of notice, which should have been handled quickly and easily.

I have not received one dime yet, and I cannot find out what the status of my claim is. On a couple of my notices I received from NJ with claim instructions, I am seeing "check dates" listed, but with an amount of 0, and my balance is still showing the full 26 weeks. I continue to receive notices to make my claims online or by phone, and I continue to follow through on this, but I have not received any payments. NJ Labor apparently disregards mail and fax, and the phone lines are very hard to get through on.

Any suggestions?

BTW, I am a PA resident. Is there any way I can attempt to work through the PA UE system, even if it is only for them to put through a query to their counterparts in NJ.

Thanks!

Default Re: How to Find Out Status of Unemployment in New Jersey

Nope, PA can do nothing for you since all of your wages in the base period were earned in NJ. This is not an interstate claim.

Although, obviously there is SOME problem. You just have to keep trying to call, consistently, until you get through to somebody. You also might try actually going in person to the nearest unemployment office and see if you can talk to somebody there.

Quote Quoting PattyPA
    View Post
    Nope, PA can do nothing for you since all of your wages in the base period were earned in NJ. This is not an interstate claim.