Default How to Get a License in Another State After a DUI

My question involves criminal law for the state of: Vermont/Nevada/New Jersey

My question pertains to obtaining a drivers license in an another state after a DUI charge. I have a license in Nevada but got charged with a DUI in Vermont. I have since moved to New Jersey and am required to get a license here as I am now a resident. Not only that, but my Nevada license will be expiring during my suspension period. My suspension in Vermont has not yet gone into effect and even it does, I assume Nevada needs to suspend it before it will show up in the computers. What do I do, I need to get a new license. Does anyone know if this will cause me unnecessary trouble in the future or what will happen if and when it does catch up to me?

Default Re: Out of State DUI -- Need to Get License in Another State

I am not sure I would call it unnecessary... seems to be necessary trouble to me.

Vermont will not give you a license until your Nevada license is unsuspended. Your Nevada license will not be reinstated until your Vermont DUI sentence is satisfied.

In a nutshell, your license is suspended. You did not avoid that suspension by crossing the state line.

Default Re: Out of State DUI -- Need to Get License in Another State

Nevada does not need to suspend it before it shows up in NDR. VT already saw to that. The moment your right to operate in VT is suspended, it will be listed in NDR and you will be denied as license in any other State. The only thing Nevada has to do with it, is that when they are notified of the suspension in VT, they will also suspend you and you will pay reinstatement fees to both States. Just because you have a license in your pocket from Nevada, does not make it valid. Your right to operate is supended by the State of VT. Technically, you should not be driving anywhere and are subject to arrest if stopped in a State where operating after suspension is a criminal offense.