Default Unreasonably Denied Permit to Purchase Handgun Denied

My question involves civil rights in the State of: Minnesota

I have recently moved from out of state to be with my fiance. After the move, I no longer have access to a shooting partner (with two of us, we would usually just rent or use one of his).

So I applied for a permit to purchase.

I am 24.
    I have no criminal background or psychological issues what-so-ever.
    I hold a MN state drivers license.
    My company has registered my earnings for taxes with the state.

This request was denied by the city police on the grounds that my move was "less than 1 year ago", that I was not a registered leaser in the city (as I moved into a house already leased by my fiance), and that my MN state ID was recently provided.

I did provide a very detailed past-address listing, so that my criminal record (or lack there of) could indeed be verified as clean from my previous state.

My Questions:
    -------------
    Is there any grounds to this denial?
    I was not aware of an in-state residency length requirement to purchase firearms.

If so, what does the statute/law look like, and how long will I have to wait?

I understand that being denied flags you as an increased risk, and can increase the probability for denial again.
    After the required time has passed (if any), should I expect this to still hinder my ability to purchase?
    (As it was still a legal request. I realize that attempted to apply for a firearm that you are not allowed to own is a felony.)

If it isn't grounds for denial (as the only reason), what is my recourse with the city?

** I have no desire to bring anything against the city, I just want to be able to resume my hobby/sport.

Any help/advice/clarification would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Default Re: Permit to Purchase (Handgun) Denied (Non-Felon) Mn