Question ORS 475.864, Possession Less Than 1 Oz

My question involves criminal law for the state of: Oregon

I have a question. Last night I got charged with possession of a controlled substance Marijuana less then 1 oz. Should I plead guilty when I go to court or what will happen to me? I'm 16, and scared and just looking what to expect when I go to court. Do I need to get a court appointed attorney? This is my first and only charge. Please help.

Thanks

Default Re: ORS 475.864, Possession Less Than 1 Oz

Possession of less than 1 oz. of marijuana is a misdemeanor in the state of Oregon, punishable by a $500 - $1000 fine.

It's always a good idea to have an attorney present when you appear in court - s/he can help you get into a diversion program, which can keep the charge off your record.
    I'm not a lawyer, but I play a researcher on the internet!
    Caution: I bite. WARNING: Do not send questions or complaints by PM. I'm likely to post them publicly and embarrass you half to death.
    I'm training for the MS Society's Bike to the Bay - and blogging about it!

Default Re: ORS 475.864, Possession Less Than 1 Oz

Quote Quoting LawResearcherMissy
    View Post
    Possession of less than 1 oz. of marijuana is a misdemeanor in the state of Oregon, punishable by a $500 - $1000 fine.

It's always a good idea to have an attorney present when you appear in court - s/he can help you get into a diversion program, which can keep the charge off your record.
    Possession of less than 1 oz. marijuana is not a misdemeanor in Oregon.
    It is a civil violation. It is not a criminal offense, hence the term
    " decriminalized."

The legislature tried to re-criminalize marijuana about 10 years ago.
    However the voters overturned the law with a referendum.
    ------

475.864 Unlawful possession of marijuana. (1) It is unlawful for any person knowingly or intentionally to possess marijuana.

(2) Unlawful possession of marijuana is a Class B felony.