Re: DWOL Misdemeanor Charge
The fine amount for a misdemeanor 12500(a) is approximately $430. I have seen judges order fines as high as $700.
Typically, a 12500(a) is charged as an infraction (as opposed to a misdemeanor). If that happens in your case, then the fine amount should be approximately $353.
You might be able to get the charge dismissed if you (at least) begin the process to get your California DL...
First and foremost, if you still reside in California, you should go get your California license. Take that with you to court (or at least show proof that you started the process) and there is a pretty good chance that you will still pay a fine but it is also possible that the judge may dismiss the DWOL violation and only order you to pay a $25 administrative fee.
As for the U-Turn violation, the fine for that should be approximately $211. Additionally, if you are found guilty, 1 violation point will be added to your driving record (and it will stay on there for 3 years from the violation date). If you haven't attended traffic school, then you should be able to pay the fine, pay the court traffic school administrative fee (ranges between $49 to $69) and get it dismissed.
I am right 97% of the time... Who cares about the other 4%!