Unhappy Charged with Petty Theft in South Dakota

My question involves criminal law for the state of: South Dakota

I was recently caught taking a $17 item from a store in South Dakota. I've never done anything like this before and I still don't know why I did it or what I was thinking. It was stupid and impulsive. But I did it and now I need some advice. I already paid the company the Civil Penalty I owed them and called to apologize to the management. I still have to appear in court though and I don't want this to be on my record. I have a clean record til now...the only other run-ins I've had with the law was one seatbelt ticket a few months ago. Other than that I've never been in trouble. I can't afford to hire a private attorney and I just want to make this go away and get it over with, but I don't want a conviction of petty theft on my record. What should I say when I go to court as my plea and that sort of thing. This is all new to me so I have no clue. Please help!!

Default Re: Charged with Petty Theft in South Dakota

I suggest that you start by taking a look at the court's website, the prosecutor's website, and if you can't find anything there trying to find out from a local lawyer if your county offers a diversion program or deferrals for first offenders and, further, if you qualify. Such programs aren't offered everywhere. Where they are available, many are limited to offenders below a speficied age, but the terms will vary by county.

You can also check with the court to see if you qualify for a court-appointed lawyer.

Did the store call the police and you were arrested?