Default Berkeley, California 25620(A) Possession of Open Container in Public

My question involves criminal law for the state of: California.

I was cited with what is checked as a Misdemeanor on the top of the Notice to Appear but listed as an Infraction in the actual code and section listing. I am unclear as to if this is a misdemeanor of an infraction?

The full Code/Section with description is: 25620(a) B&P Possession of alcoholic beverage in public.

I am a resident of New Mexico and would be unable to return for the listed court date. From reading about this, I know I will recieve information in the mail and have the option to pay a fine(bail) rather than appear in court.

If I pay the fine(bail) will this impact any future employment options, as will I have to state that I have been convicted of a crime?

Do I have the option of contesting this by mail?

Thanks in advance for any insight.

Story behind the citation. Following a Cal football game, I stepped off of a porch to grab a jacket from my girlfriend standing on the sidewalk a few feet away. After stepping off the porch I was approached by plain clothed police officers who asked for my ID to verify I was of drinking age. My ID was then handed of to another officer who feverishly began copying my information down for the wonderful citation I now have.

Default Re: Berkeley, California 25620(A) Possession of Open Container in Public

Quote Quoting California Code, B&P Sec. 25620.