Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Can I Sue a Company for False Allegations / False Accusations

I used to be an assistant manager at a retailer (huge chain) and was fired due to my shift failing secret shop. Recently my application for a government position was denied because the former manager from the mentioned retailer falsely told them that i committed theft and that's why i was fired. I have never done committed this and since i have never done it, there is obviously no evidence suggesting such thing.

Can i sue both the retailer and former manager for these false allegations/accusations? Are my chances zero since this retailer is huge across the country?

some more details:
    - For the government position a background investigator conducting a background search. He basically went ahead talked to the former manager. The manager literally lied to the investigator.

- I have papers from when i was terminated. Since i didn't steal anything my paper only indicates that i was terminated on such and such dates.

- Secret shop = some random person comes in and your shift must do a total of 10-15 steps of how to greet and handle customer. One of my sales reps failed this and i got the boot for it.

Thank you in advance.

Default Re: Can I Sue a Company for False Allegations / False Accusations

Do you have proof that you were not hired solely on your ex-manager's claim?

In order to sue under Defamation standards, the threshold is if the "utterer" knew them as false, and relayed them to third party. After that threshold is met, you must suffer a damage (e.g. demotion, termination, etc...)

Quote Quoting SNPJR
    View Post
    Do you have proof that you were not hired solely on your ex-manager's claim?

In order to sue under Defamation standards, the threshold is if the "utterer" knew them as false, and relayed them to third party. After that threshold is met, you must suffer a damage (e.g. demotion, termination, etc...)