Default Can I Turn Off Water if a Tenant is Not Paying Rent

Can I Turn Off Water. Tenant Not Paying
    My question involves real estate located in the State of: California
    A tenant moved in 3 months ago. Lease says that tenant is responsible for all utilities. Tenant never put water in their name so I am still being billed. Tenants Deposit and first months rent check bounced and all checks given since then have bounced. Just filed a 3 day notice. At this point I have not received a Dime. Do I have to keep paying the water or can I turn it off ?

Help, I am desperate.

Default Re: Can I Turn Off Water. Tenant Not Paying

You cannot turn it off.

You can, however, seek judgment in small claims court.
    I'm not a lawyer, but I play a researcher on the internet!
    Caution: I bite. WARNING: Do not send questions or complaints by PM. I'm likely to post them publicly and embarrass you half to death.
    I'm training for the MS Society's Bike to the Bay - and blogging about it!

Default Re: Can I Turn Off Water. Tenant Not Paying

Many Thanks. That is great information. It's sad. It feels like Landlords have no rights. I have a contract (IE:lease) that states that they pay for utilities but I can not shut them off if they do not pay. If the utilities were in their name and they did not pay, the utilities company would shut them off. I was a nice guy and left the water on for them until they changed it over. But they never did. I guess next time I will just have to shut it all off before they come in and that will force them to put it in there names. If they actually paid the rend I would be less concerned.

Default Re: Can I Turn Off Water if a Tenant is Not Paying Rent

I guess next time I will just have to shut it all off before they come in and that will force them to put it in there names.
    I guess you're kind of new (or perhaps just a bit generous?) at landlording?