My question involves criminal law for the state of: Illinois
I live with my mother, father, and a sister who is a minor. I am 19 years old my sister is 17 years old, and my question pertains to Illinois law.
I was coming home from work and just got in the door, my sister and I had exchanged in a verbal argument before I went to work. (Nothing physical,) upon entering the household I was blindsided by my sister pushing me into a shelf I have bruised ribs and a cut up arm with major swelling. My sister left the household and did not return for the whole night. No one was a witness to this however my mother did hear everything and came running just in time to see my sister leaving. My mom did not call the police. The day after my sister posted on her internet social account how she thought it was funny and how I am faking it and she wished she'd hurt me worse.
If I am to call the police what will happen? I am 19 and my sister 17. This is not the first time she has hit me. I have never hit back, however I cannot keep living like this! My dad always takes her side saying I started it and I need to “be nicer” my mother knows how abusive and demeaning my sister really is and she would stand up for me. What is my best course of action?