My question involves criminal law for the state of: Indiana
I live in Indiana and had a domestic violence issue with my boyfriend while my 6 month old was in the apartment. To make it short, he choked me and I got scared and went the next morning (within 24 hour period) to the police station to report it. They saw a "mark" on my neck and took a picture of it and said that was proof enough to arrest him. I went to the bathroom at the police station and could not see a mark. I want the charges dismissed/dropped. I did not go to the first court date and a new one is set in less than a week. I have not been subpoenaed to go, yet-if i will, I don't know. What is the BEST way to have charges dropped? I have heard from an attorney who also is a judge that after 3 "victim fails to appear in court" then the case is dismissed. Is this true? And is a subpoena only valid if it is HAND delivered? Thanks.