Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009

    Default Grace Period and Acceptable Late Fee

    My question involves landlord-tenant law in the State of: New Hampshire

    My landlord charged me a late fee of $100.00 on my rent of $595.00 because I handed in the rent check on the morning following the 1st. The first of the month landed on a Sunday and I was at the office first thing in the morning on the 2nd. I have heard that there are laws on what is fair to charge for late fees, and that the landlord cannot charge a "penalty" - I cannot find anything in the laws. Can anyone help with NH law on grace periods and acceptable late fees on rent?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008

    Default Re: Grace Period and Acceptable Late Fee

    While some states do have laws that put a cap on what a landlord can charge, New Hampshire is not one of them. The state has no statutes that regulate late fees on rentals. If you agreed in your lease to pay $100 if rent is not received on the first then that is what you must do.

    Next time get the rent there prior to the first if the first falls on a Saturday.

    1. Sponsored Links

Similar Threads

  1. J Visas: J1 to B2 Grace Period
    By nyyellow in forum Education and Training
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-24-2010, 10:38 PM
  2. Unlawful Presence and Overstay: OPT 60 Day Grace Period
    By kanito007 in forum Immigration Issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-05-2009, 07:26 PM
  3. Rent and Utilities: Late Fee - No Grace Period
    By Cheetos in forum Landlord-Tenant Law
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-22-2009, 04:26 AM
  4. G Visas: G-4 Grace Period
    By Silva1 in forum Business and Employment-Based Immigration
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-27-2007, 02:31 PM
  5. J Visas: Grace period and J1 to F1
    By sandoz in forum Education and Training
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-19-2006, 09:28 AM
Forum Sponsor
Landlord-Tenant Forms
Expert forms for all states. Residential & commercial. Immediate download.

Untitled Document