Default slander

I am a teacher who has been slandered and defamed by a student. I have a witness who can support me against this slanderous statement made about me to my superior. I want to sue this student(age 21)for defamation of character as the statement does impune my reputation.Should I?

Default Defamation Suits

I tried to outline the considerations which weigh against filing a defamation suit in this article.

While I understand the negative aspects of filing a lawsuit for defamation or slander , I also believe that a college student who chooses to defame a professor, for totally unfounded and false allegations, should not be allowed to "get away with this". Am I wrong?

Default Defamation Suit

That's really more of a question you need to answer for yourself, based upon the facts and circumstances. Will this college student have any resources to pay a damages award, in the event that you are successful in a suit?

This student was accompanied by her father in her visit to my superior to make the slanderous statement. Therefore the suit would be filed against her father as well as she, since he obviously supported her in her slanderous statement. My reputation is impecable at this University and to allow one student to defame me with what is false statements for which I have a witness on my behalf is the perverbial "bitter pill". I, however, do not wish to have this bandied about thus providing fodder for the rumor mill. Is it very difficult to win a lawsuit for defamation when you have a witness that will discredit the statement?

Default Defamation Suits

I discussed some of the difficulties in bringing a defamation suit in the article linked above.

It is unlikely that you could bring a suit against her father merely for being there, even if he supported the student. You also have issues of damages, if the complaint was made to only one person (who presumably did not believe the allegations).