Default HIPAA Laws and Step-Parents Taking Kids to Doctor

In a few weeks..I will become step-Mom to a great 11 y/o girl. I am also a Registered Nurse.

The child tried to call Mom to state she was ill, sans answer. So I took her to the MD on Dad's request. Just a mere virus.

Weeks later, when in Dad's care, I drove her to her sports psychologist appt @ his home. He asked my role and invited me in. Far into this session, I asked if a change in residence or family dynamics could contribute to her new mind-block in gymnastics. He explored this with the child and she opened up about Mom's leaving hubby #2 and sharing a bedroom with her 2 younger brothers, as well as my role as dad's fiancee. The child later told Mom that the above could have played a role.

Now bio-mom is trying to bar me from taking her to appts EVER, citing HIPPA laws.

On a side note..I will be volunteering a week in the role of Camp Nurse so she may attend..so I guess that would serve as exception..

PLEASE ADVISE on the legality of all of this.

Default Re: Hippa.step-Mom/Bio Dad V. Bio Mom

Quote Quoting nursewendy
    View Post
    In a few weeks..I will become step-Mom to a great 11 y/o girl. I am also a Registered Nurse.

The child tried to call Mom to state she was ill, sans answer. So I took her to the MD on Dad's request. Just a mere virus.

Weeks later, when in Dad's care, I drove her to her sports psychologist appt @ his home. He asked my role and invited me in. Far into this session, I asked if a change in residence or family dynamics could contribute to her new mind-block in gymnastics. He explored this with the child and she opened up about Mom's leaving hubby #2 and sharing a bedroom with her 2 younger brothers, as well as my role as dad's fiancee. The child later told Mom that the above could have played a role.

Now bio-mom is trying to bar me from taking her to appts EVER, citing HIPPA laws.