Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Paraphernalia in Texas

My question involves criminal law for Collin County:

It's my first year in college on a small campus where lots and lots of police have very little to do. Last year, I called for deferred adjudication on a ticket I received May 31 2008. I have had a clear record with one small blemish that shouldn't matter: a noise complaint that was taken back by the police after they failed to turn it in in a timely manner.

Recently I had an attempted robbery on my apartment (even though on college campus, still regular warrant laws apply) and was basically forced to invite police inside to write paperwork involving the failed robbery. Little did me or my roommate realize that in front of us on the table we were writing on was an ashtray filled with roaches from many nights of college life. The police went and searched the two rooms that didn't have inhabitants in them in the apartment and found a bunch of ragtag previously broken but mended together Frankenstein style bongs and included that in the paraphernalia ticket. They attempted to coerce us into giving consent to search our rooms but because we were able to communicate that we were well-to-do students that have fun every now and then, we got off the hook (thankfully) so no possession charges were called.

What I'm wondering is if I can get this ticket deferred if I got the ticket on April 19 2009 and the last day I can appear in court for it is June 2 2009 as I don't understand what exactly the one year rule entails.

If I cannot defer this and will end up having this on my record, would I have enough of a case to get a lawyer and say that the paraphernalia was my room mates (his deferral is already guaranteed so no worries about the legal ramifications on him too right?) or even that they were found on university property that I didn't and wasn't legally supposed to have access to as I didn't have a key?