Default Guilt by Association

My question involves criminal law for the state of: Texas

My daughter (19) was shopping with two friends in Macy's the other day. They went to the dressing room to try on items and her friends decided to shoplift. She tried to talk them out of it, but they wouldn't listen. When they left the dressing room, they were detained. All were eventually charged with shoplifting and fined. No police were called, no formal charges were filed. They were told they had to each pay $325 for damages by next Thursday.

My question is, if my daughter didn't shoplift, why was she charged and fined? Is there anything I can do about this other than getting an attorney?

Default Re: Guilt by Association

(NOTE: I AM NOT A LAWYER).

Your daughter was likely charged because she was with these friends, and had knowledge of the crime.

She had a couple options: Leave them, leave the store; leave them, tell an employee of the store.

Since she remained with them, she is seen as an accessory to the crime.

Pay the civil demand. The store will likely sue her if it is not paid, and the amount will be a lot more (add in their attorney's fees, court costs....). And it is possible (very likely) that if the fine is not paid, charges WILL be filed.

The store does have a year to file charges, keep that in mind.

Your daughter likely signed a form stating she had shoplifted; and another one that states she is banned from Macy's.

As for an attorney, you could consult with a Criminal Defense lawyer, many offer free consultations.

I don't care if she ever goes into this store or any Macy's again. I just don't want her name to be marred as a known shoplifter. If the only way to make it go away is to pay it, I will, but I feel she was coerced into admitting something she didn't actually do. What are my chances of getting them to change their records stating exactly the facts -- she didn't shoplift, but witnessed it being done?