Default Vehicle Charge-Off, No Repo, Now What

My question involves an auto loan or repossession in the State of Montana.

But first, let me back up a bit. I purchased the vehicle in the State of Washington in December 1999. I was an Idaho resident at the time. The loan was through Seafirst Bank, which was later purchased by Bank of America. In early 2002 I took a job that required full-time travel. My only address at that time was an Idaho post office box. The vehicle was parked on the corner of my brother's driveway, outdoors. By the third quarter of 2002, I started to fall behind and made payments by phone. Later, I was told I would have to make payments in person, by cash. I was several hundred miles from the nearest BofA branch. I received a call from a Washington repo company and gave them my brother's address in Idaho.

A few weeks later, on a one-week trip home over Halloween, after seeing that the vehicle had not been moved, I attempted to make a $1000 cash payment at a branch to bring the payments current. The teller pulled up the account and said that it was "paid off." The teller didn't know what to do with my payment. So, naturally, I kept my cash. I went back to work for another year. When I quit the job in 2003 and came home, the vehicle was still there. I eventually moved to Montana at the end of 2003. The van was eventually moved some after that to a different outdoor storage area in Idaho. Last year, my mother registered it in my name in Idaho, and last fall, 2008, I moved it here to Montana.

A few years ago, a debt collector called wanting money for the vehicle loan. As per his training, he was attempting to collect the balance plus several years' worth of interest, something around $8000 on a vehicle that was worth about half that amount. The conversation went something like this, for several revolutions:
    Him: So, how soon can you pay me $8000?
    Me: Why do I owe YOU $8000?
    Him: For the vehicle.