My question involves expungements or pardons for the state of: Mississippi
I was charged with a felony for false pretenses back in 1995, and I was 20 years old. However, I did not go to court for this charge until 2001, but was only charged with a misdemeanor for false pretense. I had never been in trouble with the law before, so it was my first offense. I received 1 year unsupervised probation, and $1000 fine. I am working on my masters in secondary education, and although this will not impeded from receiving my teacher’s license, I would really like to have my record expunged…if possible.
Does Mississippi Law M.C. § 99-19-71 apply to my circumstance?