Default 13 Year Old Daughter Pregnant By 16 Year Old in Florida

My question involves criminal law for the state of: Florida
    My thirteen year old daughter has informed me she is pregnant by a 16year old boy. It was consensual but they have broken up and he wants nothing to do with her. Is he is violation of any laws?

Default Re: 13 Year Old Daughter Pregnant By 16 Year Old in Florida

It wasn't "consensual" in the eyes of the law. Neither is old enough to consent to sex. The age of consent in Florida is 18.

I would be speaking with the police and the county prosecutor about statutory rape charges.
    I'm not a lawyer, but I play a researcher on the internet!
    Caution: I bite. WARNING: Do not send questions or complaints by PM. I'm likely to post them publicly and embarrass you half to death.
    I'm training for the MS Society's Bike to the Bay - and blogging about it!

The only possible statute here is 800.04:

(4) LEWD OR LASCIVIOUS BATTERY.--A person who:

(a) Engages in sexual activity with a person 12 years of age or older but less than 16 years of age; or

(b) Encourages, forces, or entices any person less than 16 years of age to engage in sadomasochistic abuse, sexual bestiality, prostitution, or any other act involving sexual activity

commits lewd or lascivious battery, a felony of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

Divemedic,
    Thank you very much for the information. Based on this I will be contacting a detective in the major crimes unit that my attorney has recommended. This is not for revenge but boys/men cannot just walk away with no consequesnces and we intend to pursue it to the fullest extent of the law. This site and your information has been invaluable. I will keep you posted. Again, thank you.