Default Married to Illegal Immigrant - Should We File Jointly or Separately

I am a resident just got married to an illegal immigrant. She works and paid in cash so basically no w2 or 1099...
    1)Should I file my tax return as "married jointly" or "married filing separately"?

2)Can we actually declare that she doesn't have income at all so I can get a refund? - by filing married and be the only one making money

3)Would this be an issue with USCIS when I file my petition to him? - like be questioned why i filed separately?(if i file separately) or be questioned regarding her income by immigration consul?

Default Re: Married to Illegal Immigrant-File Jointly or Separately

I don't have your answers but actually a few question:

can an illegal immigrant legally get married?

what is your spouse going to use for a social security number?

I just have to say, I really like this thread. First, you have an illegal immigrant. Then, they are working illegally under the table. Then, you are actually considering committing tax fraud by denying she even earned money. and on top of that, you want to continue that fraud by claiming married with no income for her so you can get a bigger refund.

Wow, what a great country.

LOL- the only think making this situation MORE illegal would be if she were earning her illegal money as a prostitute or a drug dealer

Quote Quoting jk
    View Post
    I don't have your answers but actually a few question:

can an illegal immigrant legally get married?
    Yes

what is your spouse going to use for a social security number?
    The spouse would apply for an ITIN number. The IRS encourages illegal immigrants to obtain ITIN numbers, file their tax returns, and pay their taxes. The IRS does not share the information with immigration.