Thumbs down Commission Money Due, but Employer Won't Pay Without a Signed Legal Release

My question involves employment and labor law for the state of: MARYLAND
    I have been working for a builder as a sales manager for the past 6 years. We have had an extremely successful relationship until the company went under financial hardship. My employment agreement is a base salary of approx. $30,000, medical insurance for myself and family and commission. I earn 1.5-2% of sales depending on the type of sale. Six months ago, I was the seller’s agent for a very large house that my company built. The commission was over $50,000. In addition, there was a $5,000 bonus offered to any employee who brought in a sale by the particular date specified. The company I am employed by has had many financial troubles and has a long list of contractors they owe money to. I am usually paid at the settlement table or a commission check is issued to me within three days of the settlement. The company withheld my commission. It was explained to me that they would pay me as soon as they became more solvent. They were not disputing that the money was owed to me; they just didn’t have it and basically used the money to keep the company afloat. I have numerous emails over the past months going back and forth with the owner and also the CFO of the company. After I reached the three month mark of not being paid my commission, I felt I had no choice but to file a complaint with the Department of Labor (DLLR) in my state. The owner of the company was furious and felt I was not being a team player. I explained that I just needed it to be a matter of record as so much time had elapsed and I had still not been paid. At one point, (Approx. 15 weeks) the company did pay me $6,000 toward part of my commission. I asked them to sign a promissory note, which they did, agreeing to pay me the balance of the money owed into two payments. When the first due date came, they did not pay the amount agreed upon and