Default Is My Landlord Obligated to Replace Bad Carpet

My question involves landlord-tenant law in the State of: California

Hi there- my husband and I are renting a condo, and also expecting a baby. We have lived here for a year, and we've had the carpet professionally cleaned twice. All the stains and yuck seems to come back after a month. Bottom line- the carpet is disgusting, so before having our baby, we would either need to move, or get new carpet. We really don't want to move, and we don't want to have to pay for new carpeting in a rental. Is the landlord in any way required to help us get new carpeting? Do we have to prove that it is unacceptable for a baby to crawl or lay on?

All advice appreciated!

Default Re: Is My Landlord Obligated to Replace Bad Carpet

Before I go digging around in the monstrosity known as the California statutes, have you discussed this with your landlord? What's his position on the matter?
    I'm not a lawyer, but I play a researcher on the internet!
    Caution: I bite. WARNING: Do not send questions or complaints by PM. I'm likely to post them publicly and embarrass you half to death.
    I'm training for the MS Society's Bike to the Bay - and blogging about it!

On a related note, what's the difference between the condition of the carpet now versus when you moved in, and what, if anything, did you discuss with your landlord about the carpet when you moved in? I know what stains are, but what is "yuck"? Are there any holes, gaps, or other physical problems with the carpet? If so, please describe them.

The owners of the condo we rent live across the country, so we rented it from a local management company. We did a walk-through, the carpet was listed in "good" condition with a few stains, but there is nothing in the lease about repair or replacement, and we have not spoken directly with the owners about it.