Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Is Writing Paid-In-Full on a Check Binding?

My question involves a consumer law issue in the State of: Michigan

If "paid in full" or "void after" is written on a personal check and the person it is written to signs it, is it legally binding?

i wish to pay only $2,000 in a disputed $4,000 retail bill AND don't want to wait 6 months to find out if they are going to cash it or not. Thanks!

Default Re: CHECKS Paid-In-Full Binding?

If "paid in full" or "void after" is written on a personal check and the person it is written to signs it, is it legally binding?
    Generally, no.

This varies by bank, but most banks have a clause in their Terms and Conditions stating that you can write whatever you want on your check in an attempt to restrict cashing it, but they're not going to pay it any mind and are going to cash it anyway.
    I'm not a lawyer, but I play a researcher on the internet!
    Caution: I bite. WARNING: Do not send questions or complaints by PM. I'm likely to post them publicly and embarrass you half to death.
    I'm training for the MS Society's Bike to the Bay - and blogging about it!

Default Re: Is Writing Paid-In-Full on a Check Binding?

Quote Quoting speedlabel
    View Post
    My question involves a consumer law issue in the State of: Michigan

i wish to pay only $2,000 in a disputed $4,000 retail bill AND don't want to wait 6 months to find out if they are going to cash it or not. Thanks!
    No, you cannot make cashing a check a contract.

What you can do is to send it to them as an offer in settlement and write "full satisfaction and accord" on the check. In your letter along with the check state that it is a offer of settlement and if they do not agree to return the check. Send it CRRR.

here is a good article on "accord and satisfaction"

http://www.allbusiness.com/finance/686973-1.html