Default Caught With Marijuana and a Scale, First Offense

My question involves criminal law for the state of: Florida

Hello,
    I was recently arrested with 27 grams of weed, a scale, and 275$ that was next to the weed. I was released on pretrial release im guessing because it was my first ever arrest. The charges that they gave me were:

Possession with intent (third degree felony)
    Possession >20 grams (mism)
    Possession of paraphanelia (mism)

Through the entire process the cops in jail were actually suprised that they brought me in for such charges, which confused me. But everyone i hear from tells me that most of the charges will be dropped but im still not sure.

Can anyone help me? Should i plea guilty or not guilty? Should i expect jail time? Probation? Should i get a lawyer or public defendant (i dont have much money for a lawyer)?

Its my first time ever offense im just hoping this will go away and i can put all this behind me.

Default Re: Caught With Marijuana and a Scale, First Offense

You should definitely get a lawyer, whether you retain one or request a public defender.

I am planning on getting a public defendant, but everyone i have talked to have made me scared of getting one, are they really that bad?

Quote Quoting Kemp_justin
    View Post
    I am planning on getting a public defendant, but everyone i have talked to have made me scared of getting one, are they really that bad?
    It's a public defender; they are experts in criminal law.

Quote Quoting Kemp_justin
    View Post
    Yes. You're better off throwing yourself at the mercy of the courts (inside joke courts have no mercy) You MUST hire a private lawyer if you want to stay out of prison. Do whatever it takes.

Florida Laws:
    Under the new law, possession of 25 or more plants (formerly 300 plants) is prima facie evidence of intent to sell or distribute, and is a second degree felony carrying a maximum penalty of 15 years in jail and a $10,000 fine.