My question involves landlord-tenant law in the State of: California
I am on a month to month lease. My understanding of California Law is that I am required to give as much notice as amount of time between rent payments. So if I pay rent every month, I need only give a 30 day notice to move out. My landlord is requiring a 60 day notice and it is stated as such on the paper I signed to move to a month to month lease.
I am moving out of state and I gave a 30 day notice. The leasing office's lawyers have come back and said that I have submitted a "request to provide a shortened notice to vacate" and that "the request is denied in that there is no proper basis for early termination." And I am responsible for rent though the 60 day period.
Can they hold me to this 60 day notice? It just seems gratuitous and unreasonable. AND it seems that the California code specifically identifies the appropriate notice to be the amount of time between payments, ie 30 days.
Thank you in advance for any insight you could provide regarding this matter.