Exclamation Petit Larceny at a Grocery Store - Should I Plead Not Guilty?

My question involves criminal law for the state of: New York

Hi, this is my first time posting. I am 30 years old and a senior at a private university upstate. this afternoon i made a huge mistake. I was shopping at a food store (where I had a $50 gift card) and placed my items in my cart. I had some frozen items that I put into a plastic bag and when I realized that I was not needing a ton of things, left the cart and walked to the bakery area with the bag. I had every intention of paying for the items with my gift card. when I was in the book/magazine area I grabbed 2 magazines and (since I was wearing a sweatshirt with a pouch and did not have a cart) stuck them in there for later to pay for. here is where I was stupid.. there was a tiny funnel and nail brush (both 50 cents) that I stuck in my pocket. I was dumb and as I walked to the bakery area again to get my friend's birthday cake, realized that it was stupid and intended to pay for everything, scolding myself in my head for being an idiot.

I did not want to risk it and have never stolen anything in my life. (-- wait not true. when I was 4 years old I swiped a lifesavers candy from the checkout and my mom made me walk back into the store to return it.) I have a completely clean record and had never been arrested or done anything illegal.

anyway, I picked up the cake and a cold container of mac and cheese (and put it on top of the large cake box) and as I was nearing the start of the store realized that I needed to get 2 citronella candles for the birthday party tonight. they keep them in an area when you first walk into the store. I walked straight past the coffee bar/newspapers and never left the store. as I was picking up the candles, a lady came up to me and said she wanted me to fill out a 'survey'.