Default Client is Paying Late and Only After Reminders

My question involves business law in the state of: VA.

I am a consultant and it is in my contract that I be paid Net 45. However, they are always paying late and only after I remind them that I should be paid.

Are they in breach of contract?

Default Re: Client is Paying Late and Only After Reminders

If you create a course of conduct whereby you routinely forgive late payments, you're effectively modifying the contract consistent with your course of conduct.

I work at a web design company and we always have clients paying late. They usually pay... we have dropped one once.. for us we have to be lenient. You have to choose whether it is ok to wait or if they need to pay on time that they know if they dont, they will be dropped as a client.

Get a contract that explains in detail both parties obligations, terms of payment, arbitration terms, etc. An atty can do this for a small fee or get a online contract

I was in the "credit and collection" field for over a dozen years prior to becoming a "computer consultant". I know this problem well, as many of my "consulting" clients are small firms that needs a reminder.

While I was in the C&C field, for the large "Fortune 500" firms, typically, 25% or more of our customers are 30 days past due or more. Believe it or not, large department store are the biggest offenders. Technically, all of them, and for the large corporation, thousands of customers, are in default.

One of the guys in our C&C department sent them nasty notes, make nasty calls, we call them "Joe's bombs". He was told to stop. Why??

We did an analysis, and found that if we dropped 25% of our customers, who are in breach, we would be operating at a loss. We would have to lay off hundreds of workers. Our plant would be operating well below it's designed capacity. We're not going to find thousands of new customers paying on the button.