Default Simple Possession of Paraphernalia in Tennessee

Yesterday I got pulled over and a drug cop was called. Im not sure how exactly they may have known but they did. So this guy came up to my window and started asking me questions. I admitted to having a small amount of marijuana on me, less than a gram, and gave it to them. They also found a small pipe in my pocket. They released me and gave me a citation that doesn't even have a conviction written on it, but a number for me to call in a few days to get information on the fine and so forth. They told me it was going to be a charge of simple possession of paraphernalia and that i wouldn't even have to come to court if i sent in the fine beforehand. They didn't know what the fine would be but they said it was probaby $250. I dont mind paying the fine and am quite happy i didn't go to jail, but a few things worry me. 1) I am a nursing student currently enrolled in a program and half way through it. If they find this charge against me, i will be expelled. I told the cops this and they said if i just paid the fine it was a simple citation and my school would never know. 2) I'd rather not have my parents find out. I told them that as well.. and the drug cop was like.. "well why do your parents need to know?" All I'm wondering, is if this is going to show up on my record for my school to find, and/or a hospital would see in my future applications. So when they say, have i ever had any offenses against me.. blah blah.. on applications, will i need to say yes for this simple citation?

ps. sorry for the other post something happened and it just posted.

Default Re: Simple Possession of Paraphernalia in Tennessee

You need to tell the truth.

I wouldn't count on the nursing program not finding out.