Angry Can Hospitals Refuse Your Minimum Payment Offer

I'm from PA, and I have a medical bill of $1000 from last July. I had a hysterectomy and my insurance covered all but $1000. My husband pays all of our bills to live (food, home, electric... etc etc) and any money I make from my business is mine. Now, last year in my business I only made $15000 ($14000 of which was used for materials. Leaving me $1000 profit.) anyways, in September, my husband and I separated and I moved out. I still did some of my business, but not enough to survive. I moved in with a friend so I wouldn't have to pay rent.

Now, in Feb. I moved back home. So, I still have my business, but it is very slow the first 6 months of the year. I'm a photographer. I have been looking for a job to help pay my other racked up debt (mainly from when I was separated). It's hard for me to find a job (I have no other skills other than my photography) that will pay me more than minimum wage and will help me to make enough money to pay for bills and daycare for 2 children. I have been trying to find a job that will pay decent so I can get back on the ball and pay off my debt. Not easy.

Not only that, but in March I got in a car accident and messed up my back. I am not able to lift more than 20-30lbs. So I had to stop doing weddings (which is 90% of my income!)

So, this morning at 8:15am my phone rings and it's the hospital. I politely asked the woman to call me back in a few hours because my family was sleeping. She said I could take her information and call her back before noon today. I get up to find paper and a pen and told her we may as well discuss this now, she woke me up! I don't sleep well and now once in a good sleep, she wakes me up!