Default Salaried Manager Working Hourly Shifts

My question involves employment and labor law for the state of: Texas

I am a salaried manager in a restaurant. In order to keep labor costs low, my boss requires that we have no hourly employees on the clock during the middle of the afternoon as we are fairly slow. This means that myself and the other managers have to work these hourly positions for several hours EVERY day. However, we do not receive the hourly wages for those hours worked. Is this legal?

Default Re: Salaried Manager Working Hourly Shifts

you get your salary don;t you?

how are you expecting them to pay you? Your full salary and then add what the hourly position pays on top of that?

I've been told by many people that it is illegal to have a salaried employee work an hourly shift and not get paid for that shift. I was just trying to find out if that was true or not.

so, are you going to reliquish your salary for that percentage of time you are performing the hourly work?

There is not legal job description requirement. Your job, as manager, is to do anything your boss tell you to. The scope of your job is a great as the boss makes it so you ar not performing some other persons job, you are doing your job.

answer me this; what makes this "hourly shift" not part of your duties as a manager? Define "hourly shift"?

A salaried exempt employee gets paid a fixed weekly salary no matter how many hrs. they work - they get paid for getting the job done. They can also be required to perform some "hourly non-exempt" duties as part of their job if the employer tells them to. You're still getting paid. You can't be paid twice - your regular fixed salary + an additional hourly salary.
    Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.

Quote Quoting jcstring
    View Post