My question involves criminal law for the state of: Ohio
I was arrested early in May for possession and sentenced to 30 days in Jail with 15 suspended, 1 year of probation, fines, and 6month license suspension.
Well I was fired from my job while in jail and was unable to obtain another one and my parents were struggling to pay the fines and it killed me to see them so stressed and they were really not happy with me at all, they were close to kicking me out.. I have nothing else to sell in my possession other than my car so I called around and ended up getting in touch with a scrap yard in Sandusky Ohio who was interested in buying my car but I would have to drive it there to sell it... No one would help me..
So I took a chance and took off to Sandusky in my car.. I was pulled over for not having a license plate light and was jailed for Driving Under a Suspended License. In court I was sentenced to 30 days in jail with 30 days suspended, 376 dollars in fines, the impoundment of my vehicle and plates for 30 days, and 1 year probation I got home today (I'm from Columbus)
I'm really worried about my previous violation and probation status. My first meeting (I only have to call in because I'm out of town) with my Probation officer from my first offense is on June 25th. I've never been in any trouble with the law before these 2 offenses so I'm unsure about what will happen. I do know that it is a violation of probation to break any sort of law (which I did)
I just need someone who is familiar with things like this to tell me what the probation officer might do when she finds about this or if she even will find out about this (is jail time mandatory?) I really don't want to go back to jail so If that is a likely would getting a lawyer reduce my chances of that happening?
If someone could give their input that would be great, thanks.