Default Evicting A Tenant Who Is In Jail

My question involves an eviction in the state of: california
    i am a new manager of apartments and while ive done my own looking up on the suject i am completly confused about it. i have a tenant that moved in in febuary and has had a few noise comlaints before i got the job well for april i didnt recieve rent so i had to go and knock on their door i got to talk with some one on the eighth they told me they were having a problem he got suspended from qwork and his sister was moving out so they would get it to me on the 11th when he got paid i let it slide until the 12 and he told me it would be paid that night on the 14 i recieved a check for 500 the rent is 875 i got a hold of him on the 15 again he told me of his problems and said it wont happen again and he gets paid on the 18th on the eighteenth he tells me he is going to pick up his check and hell have it to me that night well time goes buy and whatever i know hes not going to pay well on sat i find out from his friend who was living with him that he went to jail and he doesnt know when hell get out. now i find out that there was a stop payment put on his first check of 500. so my question is this can i give his mom a letter to pay or quit since they have keys to the apt and they could get his stuff. or is there any way to evict him whle he is in jail? i dont know if i have any right to kick him out?

panther10758 Guest

Default Re: Can I Evict This Tenant