Hybrid View

Default Falling Tree

I am in Houston Texas. We have a hackberry tree in our back yard that is located on the fence line next to an adjacent house. This morning we heard a crack and on investigation found the tree had begun to fall and is leaning on the fence and against the house next door. The question I have is... Who if anyone is liable for any damage and who is liable for the cost of removal?

Default Re: Falling Tree

You want to know who is liable for your tree falling on someone else's property.

Hmmm...let me get back with you on that, okay?

Okay, I'm NOT a lawyer so take this FWIW, free commentary.

Tree law isn't simple - there is the old Massachusett's doctrine and a more recent trend emerging as seen in a Virginia case. What Texas currently follows, I can't tell you. Links to articles on both are below.

Generally both parties have rights AND responsibilities. Your neighbor has the right to protect his property, and you have the duty to prevent damage to his property. Given that the tree is right on the property line further adds to the confusion as to ownership and who bears the financial burden. If the tree were diseased and still standing, a court would likely rule that both of you share the burden of removal to prevent future damage. But if you had no knowledge that the tree wasn't healthy, and the incident is attributable to the old "act of God" standard, such as a storm or wind, it's likely the neighbor(and his insurance co) bears the financial burden of any fence and house damage, and removing the tree. He's simply unlucky that it fell his way.