Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question Primary And Secondary Coverage Differences In Negotiated Costs

I am a resident of the State of Texas. My question concerns when the insured patient has both primary and secondary group health insurance coverage in which there is coordination of benefits. If the medical provider is a participating provider for EACH plan and has therefore agreed not to bill the patient for an amount exceeding the allowable costs of each plan, what expected guideline should be followed when the primary and secondary plans each have a DIFFERENT negotiated amount of allowable expenses that they have contracted for?

Put another way: If the secondary carrier has negotiated a lesser amount of total allowable costs (greater amount excluded) than what the primary coverage allows, and if the secondary carrier consequently determines a lesser portion of patient responsibility than what is determined by the primary carrier, is the medical provider still bound to honor its contract with the secondary carrier by not billing the patient for anything over and above the secondary carrier's negotiated contract amount, irrespective of the secondary status?

Default Re: Primary And Secondary Coverage Differences In Negotiated Costs

I guess I'm not seeing the point of your question.

Let's say that the bill is $1,000. Plan A (primary) has a usual and customary rate of $1,300, and Plan B (secondary) has a U&C of $1,100. You get $1,300 from Plan A.

Now we'll flip that, so that the U&C is $1,100 for Plan A and $1,300 for Plan B. You get $1,100 from Plan A and $200 from Plan B, for a total of $1,300.

In both cases you recover the same amount, and in both cases you've contracted not to bill the patient a greater amount.