Default Do You Have To Be A Lawyer To Prepare A Deed

I'm a legal secretary currently employed in Indiana, I have 26 years of experience in Michigan and have personally prepared hundreds of Michigan deeds. My law firm has a client who has real estate in Michigan but is an Indiana resident. I need to find the statute that says you do not need to be a lawyer to prepare a deed. The paralegal I am working with does not believe me when I tell her that you do not have to be a lawyer licensed in Michigan to prepare deeds.

Thanks!

Default Re: Do You Have To Be A Lawyer To Prepare A Deed

I can't speak for Michigan but here it is unlawful to prepare a deed unless you are the property owner.

In Michigan
    The preparation of an ordinary mortgage by completion of a form, or the completion of any standard legal form, is not considered the practice of law unless legal knowledge or discretion was involved in the document's completion. Dressel

Realtors who filled in standard printed forms of agreements of purchase and sale, deeds, land contracts, mortgages, etc. incidental to their realty work and for which they did not charge an extra fee, had not engaged in the illegal practice of law.

The guiding principle must be whether under the circumstances the preparation of the papers involved is the business being carried on or whether this really is ancillary to and an essential part of another business. Petitions of Ingham County Bar Asso., 69 N.W.2d 713
    It appears to be a close issue in Michigan. They allow realtors to prepare the deed where is is part of the same transaction but appear to draw the line at only preparing the deed. I would cover myself and have an attorney review the deed.

I would suspect writing a deed for another would fall under the practice of an attorney and writing one for another without being a licensed attorney would then be practicing law without a license.