Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default Can You Leave Home At 17?

    i just have a quick question...i heard that a 17 your not considered a kid or an adult and as long as you are going to school and possibly have a job and your parents know where you are they can't make you come home and its not considered a runaway. Is this true.

    ps. sorry bout the run on sentence.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    28,636

    Default Re: Can You Leave Home At 17?

    Laws are different in each state. Sometimes the police department won't force a 17-year-old runaway to return home, usually because the juvenile courts for the state don't have jurisdiction over 17-year-olds, but that's not universally true. And even when it is, it doesn't make it "legal" to run away from home.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: Can You Leave Home At 17?

    The situation is happening in kansas. sorry. And so what would happen to the 17 year old?

  4. #4
    panther10758 Guest

    Default Re: Can You Leave Home At 17?

    You might also ask what will happen to anyone giving you a place to stay as they could be charged with a crime.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: Can You Leave Home At 17?

    what kind of crime could they be charged with? The girl that it is happening to ic currently staying with a friend and is looking for her own place and planing to move to her own house/apt soon.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    28,636

    Default Re: Can You Leave Home At 17?

    Kansas juvenile courts have jurisdiction over minors until the age of 18.

    Some states have "harboring a runaway" laws; others have "contributing to the delinquency of a minor" charges.
    Quote Quoting Kansas Statutes, Sec. 21-3612. Contributing to a child's misconduct or deprivation.
    (a) Contributing to a child's misconduct or deprivation is:
    (1) Causing or encouraging a child under 18 years of age to become or remain a child in need of care as defined by the revised Kansas code for care of children;

    (2) causing or encouraging a child under 18 years of age to commit a traffic infraction or an act which, if committed by an adult, would be a misdemeanor or to violate the provisions of K.S.A. 41-727 or subsection (j) of K.S.A. 74-8810 and amendments thereto;

    (3) failure to reveal, upon inquiry by a uniformed or properly identified law enforcement officer engaged in the performance of such officer's duty, any information one has regarding a runaway, with intent to aid the runaway in avoiding detection or apprehension;

    (4) sheltering or concealing a runaway with intent to aid the runaway in avoiding detection or apprehension by law enforcement officers;

    (5) causing or encouraging a child under 18 years of age to commit an act which, if committed by an adult, would be a felony; or

    (6) causing or encouraging a child to violate the terms or conditions of the child's probation or conditional release pursuant to subsection (a)(1) of K.S.A. 2007 Supp. 38-2361, and amendments thereto.
    Contributing to a child's misconduct or deprivation as described in subsection (a)(1), (2), (3) or (6) is a class A nonperson misdemeanor. Contributing to a child's misconduct or deprivation as described in subsection (a)(4) is a severity level 8, person felony. Contributing to a child's misconduct or deprivation as described in subsection (a)(5) is a severity level 7, person felony.
    (b) A person may be found guilty of contributing to a child's misconduct or deprivation even though no prosecution of the child whose misconduct or deprivation the defendant caused or encouraged has been commenced pursuant to the revised Kansas code for care of children, revised Kansas juvenile justice code or Kansas criminal code.

    (c) As used in this section, "runaway" means a child under 18 years of age who is willfully and voluntarily absent from:
    (1) The child's home without the consent of the child's parent or other custodian; or

    (2) a court ordered or designated placement, or a placement pursuant to court order, if the absence is without the consent of the person with whom the child is placed or, if the child is placed in a facility, without the consent of the person in charge of such facility or such person's designee.
    (d) This section shall be part of and supplemental to the Kansas criminal code.

    1. Sponsored Links
       

Similar Threads

  1. May I Leave Home Now
    By ladyjoker91 in forum Juvenile Law
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-16-2009, 11:01 AM
  2. Emancipation: I'm 16 and I Want to Leave Home
    By maemae327 in forum Juvenile Law
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-12-2009, 01:14 PM
  3. Can You Leave Home at 17?
    By MkittyKeay in forum Juvenile Law
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-19-2008, 05:01 PM
  4. Child Abuse: Is There Any Way I Can Leave My Home Due to Abuse
    By Twade754 in forum Abuse and Neglect
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-27-2008, 12:44 PM
  5. Emancipation: How Do I Leave Home?
    By ilovemybaby in forum Juvenile Law
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-21-2007, 04:33 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
 
Forum Sponsor
Find A Lawyer - Free, confidential referrals.
Legal Forms - Buy easy-to-use legal forms.




Untitled Document