This happened in Queens County, New York City.
Here is the deal, we were parked in a car waiting for our friend, and a detective car pulled up. Without asking for license and registration, they handcuffed me and my friend and searched me. My friend had a small glass pipe and weed about to be rolled in a dutch on him.
I had nothing on me, but I had a glass pipe in my locked glove compartment. While going in, being in, and after getting out of jail, they never fully explained what I did, and just kept mentioning my friend had weed on him. They gave me a Desk Appearance Ticket and told me to come to court Jan 30.
Right now, I am VERY VERY scared. I was looking over this site:
On the bottom it says "Possession or sale of paraphernalia is punishable by up to one year in jail or a fine up to $1,000."
I am very afraid, this is my first offense ever, first time EVER going to a Police Station, and I am 22.
Usually, according to that law(what is the law called for Drug Paraphernalia, is there any site with New York drug laws?) I can go to jail for up to one year, and up to $1000. I can never afford that much money, and I never ever want to set foot in jail again. Forget weed, after this incident, my mind has warped into a safety mode, NO MORE RISKS, I'm not going to speed, I'm not going to ever be seen with weed outside again, I'm not breaking anymore laws.
I am still afraid for these charges.
On the Desk Appearance Ticket, on "Offense Charged" its says c/p/m.
Its C slash P slash M. Is that Criminal Possession of Marijuana? or is it something else.
I had no weed on me, and the cops know my friend had it, so c/p/m must be from the Drug Paraphernalia, but is it really? I can't tell what my offense is. I had no weed, but shouldn't the "Offense Charged" be something different then C/P/M?
I had smoked about 23 grams of weed from the pipe, could they do tests and tell its 23 grams of weed worth marijuana possession from the resin, the entire glass pipe had turned purple from its original orange color.. I read Criminal Possession of Marijuana is if its 25+ grams of possession of Marijuana, but my friend had 2 grams AT MAX.
What do I do in this situation, what is the minimum penalty for this, I am so scared, that I haven't been able to function right now, I already had enough debt problems, and now this, I think I'm going to die. Please help me out.
Also how much different are these Desk Appearance Tickets from the Pink Slip "Unlawful Possession of Marijuana".
I had a cop friend pull strings to get a friend off the hook for the pink slip summons for unlawful possession of marijuana. Will this cop, who is in the same county, be able to do the same thing for a Desk Appearance Ticket. Will this affect my college and ability to get a job? I am applying for jobs ask we speak, will I have to start putting yes under "convicted of a crime"?
Also is there a possibility that the cops just made up 25+ gram for both of us, and put it under Criminal Possession of Marijuana. Is there anyway to make sure they have the facts straight, is there anything I can do NOW about it, maybe go to the police station and ask what my charge is? I don't want to find out Jan 30 that they put it under 25+ CPM, when it was really drug paraphernalia, and unlawful possession of weed for my friend, and then not knowing how to fight it, basically it would be my word against the police officers.