Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Question Is It Legal To Record Audio or Video of California Traffic Stops

I came across Maxima_Lover's story on Digg, and it prompted me to read up on my local rights. I've spent the past couple of hours searching for information specifically related to the legality of recording audio or video during traffic stops in California, but haven't found it. I even tried wading through the California Penal Code. I noticed a couple of other questions on this forum, but they weren't specific to California.

As I understand, California has two-party consent laws for audio/video recording of conversations. This seems clear enough for telephone and private conversations, but how does this apply to those in public? I'm an amateur photographer, so I know that it's legal to take pictures of people in public without consent because there isn't a reasonable expectation of privacy. Do the same laws apply here?

Does a police officer have a reasonable expectation of privacy during a traffic stop? Do I need to tell him/her that he/she is being recorded? If so, it seems like a needlessly risky way to escalate the situation. Are there exemptions for precisely that reason?

Thanks in advance for any advice you might have!

Default Re: Is it legal to record audio/video of traffic stops in California?

Brad, maybe Carl will chime in later, he is a CA police officer.

All state Constitution's have personal liberty clauses/AM's such as the US Constitution provides, so we have 2 sources to consider.

Freedom of speech/expression per the 1st is not absolute, however, it seems unlikely the government can restrict the tape recording of a traffic stop, it would appear to be a proper time place and manner afforded the detainee the gov. can not abridge.

The media certainly has a right to do so, so how could a detainee not be afforded the same protection as a constitutional right?

Default Re: Is It Legal To Record Audio or Video of California Traffic Stops