Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Emancipation For A 17-Year-Old In Texas

I am 17 years old. I will be 18 in December. I have already graduated from High School, with academic honors, one year early. I attend Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi. I have been taking classes since May 29, 2007. My adoptive mother kicked me out of our home on May 20, 2007. I graduated from high school May 26, 2007. I am currently 24 weeks pregnant. My adoptive mother does not provide for me financially in any way. I work, pay my own on campus rent and utilities, and pay for the maintnence on my fiance's vehicle, which I am using as transportation to and from work and his parent's home. My fiance is 19, graduated from High School, and is Active Duty in the U.S. Army. He is currently stationed at Fort Gordon in Augusta, Georgia. We wish to married as soon as possible so that both our unborn child and I may be covered on his military based family insurance. Our problem is that my adoptive mother will not sign the marriage license application. Since I am not 18, I do not know any other way.

I did recently run across a family code for the age of majority in Texas that stated "a child reaches the age of majority when the child reaches the age of 18, or graduates from High School".

Would this stand in filing for a marriage license on my own with only my fiance's parents present, or is there something else to it?

If possible, could someone please help me in finding this family code?

If this would not stand in filing for a marriage license, by what other means may I go by?

If emancipation is the only way, what is the average running time and cost for such a petition?

panther10758 Guest

Default Re: Emancipation for 17 year old in texas

The chances of a minor being granted emancipation while pregnant is almost zero! The process takes months if it runs smooth so its very likely you would turn 18 before process was over so it snot even worth the time