Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Unhappy Minor in Possession of Alcohol, Paraphernalia, and Tobacco in Texas

I was driving and was pulled over for not having my headlights on. The officer said that he thought I had something to drink a few hours previously or that I was stoned. He tried to search my car but I didn't consent to a search. He peered into my windows for awhile, meanwhile he called another officer over, he claimed a water bottle protruding from my friend's bag was probable cause. I watched as the cops tore my car to pieces, they found a bong as well as alcohol and tobacco in my friend's bag. My friend had left the bag in my car and I had been trying to give it back to him, but because it was in my car I was in possession. I am 16 and this is my first offense, my parents fear that I will be sent to juvenile hall and want me to take self defense classes to protect myself from being raped. I am an honor student and in advanced classes and have never had any previous problems with the law.

Will I be sent to juvenile hall? If not what will my punishment likely be? Should I be worried?

Default Re: Minor in Possession of Alcohol, Paraphernalia, and Tobacco in Texas

I doubt that you will be incarcerated if your record is otherwise clean, but you should get help from a lawyer. It may be possible to establish that the search was unlawful, and thus that the evidence found in your car cannot be used in court.

Is there any chance your friend is going to admit that it was his bag?

I doubt my parents would allow a lawyer to assist me, as they are hoping I will suffer and be shocked into being an angel. My friend might admit, but the officer said that that was irrelevant because it was in my car. Will my friend be severely busted for admitting, or will the evidence be thrown out? What do you think my punishment will be if I am not incarcerated?

thanks

all of those are class c misdemeanors in Texas... and you will not go to jail...