Default Can A Tourist Visa Holder Obtain A Divorce In The USA

Quote Quoting Mr. Knowitall
    View Post
    At risk of repeating myself....
    Hi Mr. Knowtail. Its my first time to post a message in this forum. So I dont really know exactly if I am doing this right.

My name is Clare from the Philippines. I am married here in the Philippines but do have a boyfriend in the USA. My marriage in the Philippines is unsuccessful and met my USA boyfirend in the internet. I wanted to ask if I can file my divorce in the USA since there is no divorce here in the Philippines. Would a touriust visa holder from the Philippines be given the chance to file divorce in the USA and later marry after divorce has been approved. Please help me.

Default Re: Tourist Visa Holder Seeking Divorce in the USA

Please try this forum.

http://www.expertlaw.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=43

Your question is more about DIVORCE. Most people here are familiary with immigration issues. The people in the DIVORCE forum may know more about your question. You have to find this out first

Or this other forum

http://www1.divorcenet.com/bbs/ubbth...oard=50&page=1

From an Immigration point of view, IF you come to the US on a TOURIST visa WITH the intention of getting married to a US Citizen, Immigration will consider this fraud. If your plan is to Marry, your US Boyfriend has to sponsor you for a FIANCE VISA instead. HOWEVER, I don't know if he could do that while you are still married?? That is a difficult question.

For anyone else who is reading...If She finds out that she can process the divorce while in the US, Can she come to the US on a Fiance VISA while she is still married, IF the intention is to get a divorce in the US??

You would not be able to satisfy most states' residency requirements in order to obtain a divorce, and you may end up with a divorce document which will not be respected by the Philippines.