Question Tenant's Responsibility for Excessive Utility Bills

Sorry this may be a little lengthy. I'm a Michigan resident currently renting a small one bedroom apartment (I use very few lights and keep the heat to 65 degrees). Winter came so i began using my gas furnace for one month with no problems (utility bill about $70). Then the furnace broke so maintainance came to fix it, the next month my bill was over $150 (mostly from gas useage), so i called the property management company and a different maintainence person came out and said the first repair was done incorrectly. I reluctantly paid the $150, happy that this was behind me. But I just got the bill for this month and the utility bill was $440 (Gas $110 and electric $330). I called the property management place again and they agreed to send someone else out to see what the issue is. The person they sent out simply left me a note that the bill reflected utilities prior to their most recent repair, which it doesn't.

Is this right for them to do? I can't afford, nor do I feel I should pay $440 per month to be cold and in a dark apartment. For comparison, my next door neighbor keeps his apartment at 75 degrees and he only paid $80 last month.

Default Re: Is this utility bill my responsibility?

Why is the electric bill so high? Electric space heaters?

That is my question too, I haven't done anything to make the electric so high also. It seems the property management wants to chalk it up to the broken furnace a while back, but I don't believe the gas furnace would eat up that much electricity...

I've been checking my meters every day since, and I'm not using even 10% of what they claimed I had used.

if you are checking every day and if you are using the exact same amount of electricity, you wouldn't be using 10%. You would be using 1/3 of that (3.333%).

It would take you 3 days of usage to total 10% of the months total.

How does this compare now?