Question Workman's Comp Benefits For Condition With Gradual Onset

I have been working for a company, which has me go out to various supermarkets to scan various products. I work anywhere from 6-15 hours each week and I have been doing this since May 2006 (when I was hired). The job entails a lot of squatting to collect various barcodes in various locations throughout the store.

Several months ago, my knees started hurting as a result of all the squatting. The pain has progressed further and further, until this past week, when I worked 5 hours in one day, I came home in pain from my knees and it has carried on several days past my work day. I have never had a problem with my knees before, nor have I ever injured them in any accident, nor have they ever been broken or fractured before. I am in good health and do exercise periodically.

Is it okay to file for workman's comp with my employer due to the progressed nature of my knees or does the injury sustain have to happen at once and me having to report it shortly there after. My main concern is that if I file a report and say that my injury started several months ago, they will ask me, "Why didn't you report it to us sooner?" How do I reply to that?

Thanks for any and all one's help.

Default Re: Workman's Comp General Question

Your failure to report this will definitely hurt you.

But go ahead and try anyway.

Q: My main concern is that if I file a report and say that my injury started several months ago, they will ask me, "Why didn't you report it to us sooner?" How do I reply to that?

A: I suggest telling the truth.

Default Re: Workman's Comp General Question