Default Getting Sole Custody Based on Father's Limited Visits

My question involves a child custody case from the State of: Iowa.

This is my first time posting so please bear with me while I try and explain. I'm a single mother of 2 wonderful children their ages now are almost 6 and almost 8. To begin here is a little back story to explain. My ex husband kicked the children and me out of our house we were purchasing almost 4 yrs ago and filed for a divorce. Our divorce should have been simple since I told him I would give him whatever he wanted and that I wouldn't fight for any of it except for my children to be sure they are safe. My ex husband had a severe drinking problem coming home in the early morning hours all the time drunk and belligerent, breaking things in the home, and waking the kids up during his rages. I called the police several time but stupidly did not have him arrested but instead would have the police keep the peace until one of his family members would come pick him up and take him with them until he would sober up. When I went to court I had an awful attorney that told me "You are being way too picky just sit down and shut up" when I tried to push the issue about my ex husband being an unsafe environment for my children because I was simply asking for 6 months of supervised visits just to be sure that the children would be okay with him because since they were born he really didn't play any part in their care because he told me "he wasn't good with babies". In the end it was ruled that we would have joint physical custody with primary placement with me and he was awarded to pay child support including back support. Since he first kicked us out his visitations with his children have been nothing short of ridiculous. Within the first year he barely saw his children but maybe 5 times which was usually because I would force him to. Then there was a few months when he came back and asked if we could reconcile and I agreed because he told me his wor