My question involves criminal law for the state of: Texas. I have been charged a dwi over 0.15, i blew .24. I pleaded no contest and was given 18 months probation, dwi class, victim impact panel, eval, 48 hours of community service, breathalyzer for 9 months and I don't recall my fees but they arranged for me to pay 133 per month for them.
Now I have completed all three class, I have the breathalyzer for almost a month, I paid 133 once. I have been on probation since aug 29th. I had the intentions to go through my probation just the way the guidelines were laid out for me, however two weeks ago I lost my job. I was already behind on bills so this made everything dramatically worse economically. Although I live in Texas, I'm from Georgia that's where my family is. With all that has happened I will like to return home. The last time I went to see my probation officer I told him my concerns and informed him that I would like to sit my time in jail so immediately after my release I can return home. He told me no. He said the only way he would allow me to sit my time in jail would be if I get in trouble for something else.
My question is can a probation officer and judge really deny you the right to sit your time in jail? If so, what other options do I have?? I find it ridiculous that he told me to get in more trouble just to sit my time out that wont do anything but make things worse. Please help.
- - - Updated - - -
I forgot to mention this is my first offense.