Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Can You Get Unemployment After Being Fired for Leaving Work Early

My question involves unemployment benefits for the state of: California

Ok so here is my situation. I work in sales. I close at my job 3 nights a week. In the beginning of the summer I had several car issues. Bottom line is my car stopped working and has been iffy every since. I have had to take my car several times to the shop(all documented) and have been carless for weeks at a time. I live 30 miles away from work and there is no public transportation when I leave work(8 pm). I have to get rides home as I can and sometimes my ride has a limited time window to pick me up. With all that being said sometiems I have to close the store 10-15 min early to be able to get a ride home. Now before you say about loss wages to the employer on days that I do this it is extremely slow with no one coming in the store for hours.

I was notified today by one of my bosses that they had me on camera leaving last Friday. I didn't really have a chance to explain myself ( he was yelling) but I did write an apology text to my District Manager and let him know I acccept all dicplianry actions. I have NEVER been written up for anything at this job. If I do get fired is my having to leave work early due to lack of transportation( all documented) a reason for EDD to deny me unemployment?

Default Re: Leaving Work Early

It could be.

Quote Quoting cbg
    View Post
    It could be.
    What would the reasoning be and what can I do or say to hep swing things my way?

The reasoning being that work expects you to be there on time, during your entire shift. They expect you to arrange reliable transportation to work (frankly, many places don't care how you get home - just you punch it at start time, work your entire shift, and then punch out).