My question involves criminal law for the state of: Florida
Ok, I've got a good one for you. Background: ( Brother-in-Law is a 40 year old man with a pregnant 19 year old girlfriend...I know, I know )
So, my brother-in-law and this girl mutually fell in love about 6 months ago and are planning on getting married. The girl is a very aggressive person and has hit him on more than one occasion. Friday night, she was arrested for battery because she basically beat up his face pretty good. We were all raised to never hit a woman..no exceptions, so he did not hit back. He did not want to press charges, but I guess in Florida it does not matter if the police were called to a domestic violence situation.
Bond was posted by her dad and she was released from jail 24 hours later. My brother-in-law desperately wants to talk to her, find out how she's doing, and talk about the future. However, he received a phone call from a deputy sheriff at 3:00 this morning saying that he is not allowed to have any contact with this girl until after her court appearance. Is that true? or did the girl's dad, (who is a deputy sheriff with 20 years on the force) call in a favor to one of his buds?
Any information or advice would be helpful. My brother-in-law is a stand-up guy who just wants to do the right thing by this girl and his unborn child. Thanks in advance!